Artist research: 

Alex Crete-systermans-familiar 

This artist relates to the idea of everyday, generation and the thing of familiar. Things you see every day. I slelected these images to relates with my thing of generation and what it was like in the different generation. So you can see the image just about this text, with the family sitting around the table. I decided to choose this pictures because although they’re pretty basic with the title as ‘familiar’ you straight away know what the pictures are relating to because everyone uses the sink to wash up and everyone uses the some sort of desk. So you know why he took the photo. All of these images show the daily routine of someone or some people. I especially like how they are very basic but detailed photos at the same time, which makes you look further into the image itself and what it’s telling/showing. 

Anni hanén 


These photos make me think of things like favourite objects of people or things that’s make other people think of the  family members or friend, like the necklace and box. The child with looking through the small hole could represent the way he look at things, that he looks at things with a small perspective. The child in black and the black thing covering his face could show that black is his favourite colour and that’s the way the represent that. The photo with the photo frame has given me an idea the recreate old photos with people holding old photos in front of their face. Instead of the typical recreation by dressing up how the photo is. Finally the picture where the person is holding the globe up could show that the person wants the travel the world and the photo next to him is the one where they have actually managed to track and go somewhere. So they’ve recreated someone’s dream to travel in a simplistic way. 

Simona Bonanno 


I relate to this artist as the title of these photos are, “24 hours, 90 years” so I interpret this to mean. Routine for the past 90 years for 24 hours. This shows another generation and what they do. This shows the difference of what the older generation does to what the younger generation does. In one of the photos it shows water with many boxes of tablets. I took that as one of the old people have many problems which means they need loads of tablets. Also it also looks as though it’s a tray which could suggest that maybe they get brought them because it’s all jumbled together and nit very organised, like you’d imagine an older person being. It also shows an old women sitting by herself, it’s the same through out the images, the women looks to live on her own, one of the images show a plate but only one, this could show her husband might have died? On the other hand if you look at it from a different perspective, all the photos are taken of her, so maybe someone has taken photos of her daily life, like her daughter or grandchild? 

Ayala Gazit


This artist is completely different to the other three I’ve done, which is why I chose them. I want to have a variety of inspiration for my work. These images made me think that the person in the photos is going on an adventure. Like he doesnt feel content with what he’s done with his life so far. One of the photos is of a house, this could be a holiday home he went to as a child or when he was younger(20s) and he wants to revisit it, to revisit old memories. So the whole point of his journey is to revisit old memories, possibly because he’s found out bad news and wants to remember all the good things he’s done. 

Mahshid mahboubifar

The title of these images is “those who were me” I interpreted this to mean maybe the woman it was meant to be is dead and she’s been replaced. Or maybe it’s women that she’s influenced or were like her in some way. Maybe she moved away from a county that women weren’t equal so she’s saying that use to be me until I moved away and became my own person. So she moved away from her family to make something from herself, to become something other than a women that obeys by every rule her husband says. 


Ken Kajoranta

I chose this artist because I can relate him to my final piece, the colours he has used to cover the faces I interpreted them to be that persons favourite colour. So for my final piece I could paint the film I develop with my family’s favourite colour. Maybe the artist covered the faces with the paint because they didn’t want to be shown in his work, so to represent them he chose to paint their faces with their favourite colours because he can’t still tell who’s who even if we can’t. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑